LibraryReads November Picks

The November LibraryReads list is here!   This nation-wide list is comprised of books read, reviewed, and voted on by librarians.  And there are some interesting books coming out in November.  Here are the highlights:

Bellman & Black by Diane SetterfieldBellman & Black book cover
William Bellman is a happily married father with a promising future, until an event from his childhood comes to haunt him and everyone he loves. Beautifully written with a vividly enticing setting, Bellman & Black is a truly gothic tale that will you have entwined in its arms until the very end. – Scott Lenski, Whitefish Bay Public Library

 

The Valley of Amazement by Amy TanThe Valley of Amazement book cover
A new Amy Tan novel is an event. Under her sharp-eyed observations of mothers and daughters and their inexplicable bonds, is a powerful story of love, family, courage, and history. – Kaite Stover, Kansas City Public Library

 

 

The Cartographer of No Man’s Land by P. S. DuffyThe Cartographer book cover
Angus MacGrath is caught between the artist he longs to be and the naval career his father believes is more fitting for a man supporting a family on the coast of Nova Scotia. Angus enlists in World War I with the promise of a safe cartographer’s job, but finds himself thrust on the front lines of battle in France. The emotional havoc is palpable. Life changes in the blink of an eye and Duffy does a masterful job of letting the reader watch everyone desperately trying to catch up. – Jennifer Hendzlik, Anythink Libraries

 

The Raven’s Eye: A Brock and Kolla Mystery by Barry MaitlandThe Raven's Eye book cover
The latest Brock/Kolla mystery begins with a sudden death on a London houseboat. Unusual setting, great plot, wonderful writing. This fabulous series is yet to be discovered by many American lovers of British police procedurals. Great recommendation for fans of Ruth Rendell, Elizabeth George, early Martha Grimes and Deborah Crombie. – Janet Lockhart, Wake County Public Libraries

 

LibraryReads_banner1_hor_2

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s